Why We Need People Who Are Passionate About A Cause

Marcy Pedersen, MBA
5 min readNov 18, 2019
Photo on Visualhunt

It took a small back up and a passionate heart to get me to learn this lesson. I had once given my life for a cause. For seven years I lived and breathed a cause for the nonprofit I worked at. My cause was helping women in need. I was their champion. I worked hard to ensure that people in our community understood what we were about.

I got so lost in our cause and raising money for it that I developed a prejudice against other causes. Our cause was “the” cause. I grew blind. Thinking that our way was the best way to help people and other ways were inferior. I lost sight of what was important — the women we served. If helping them was truly important, then how could it matter how they were helped and who helped them.

Then in the darkness of my mind, entered a small back pack and a passionate heart and the scales melted away. I could see.

My son and I started backpacking together about a year or so ago. Just some quick day hikes at a local state park down the road from our house. Little did I realize how our hikes would transform my thinking. My son is what conservatives might refer to as one of “those” environmentalists. His heroes fight global warming. He hates what big business does to the environment. He is concerned with…

--

--

Marcy Pedersen, MBA

Writer, process improvement guru, analyst, life-long learner, and obsessed about improving life and work processes. Connect at marcypedersen@icloud.com